Skip to content

Why Mommy has a Courderoy Purse

August 4, 2005

So some may think me not so stylish, some may say I don’t match. But here’s why I prefer my trusty GAP, dark green, courderoy purse.
I was sleeping in a little today, since JT sayed up till after 11pm, I thought he wouldn’t be up till really late. First mistake. He was up earlier than me and didn’t come and get me, which is his norm. So I’m not sure how long it took him to do this, but I imagine it was quite awhile. Please note, up until the point where he woke me up, this is all speculation.
Sometime after he got up, he let himself into the fridge, probably thinking he’d be a really helpfull little 2 1/2 year old and get his own breakfast. While browsing what might have been available to eat, he noticed a whole stick of butter in the butter drawer. I’m not quite sure what might have intrigued him about this stick of butter, but he proceeded to take it out of the fridge. From there I’m not sure what happened, but somewhere between the fridge and the dining room table, he decided that it would be best to use the stick of butter as a “crayon” of sorts to “paint” the all-purpose table that is on the way. This is the table that holds keys, purses, bills, etc. It’s made of wood, and just his size. Well, my trusty old courderoy purse was in the way, and received a good painting as well. Oh that, and the carpet too. He managed to spread that entire half cup of butter stick all over, there was literally nothing recognizable about it when he was finished. When he finished, with butter up to his elboys, he finally decided it was time to wake me up and tell me what he had done. He came quietly into my room and said Momma, I opened my eyes and saw my angel happily grinning from ear to ear. At first the white butter looked like his foamy bathroom soap. I asked him if he had gotten into it and he said Yay! Soap!. So we went to the bathroom, no soap anywhere, in fact it was still out of his reach. So Daddy woke up too (also sleeping in) and asked JT to show us exactly what had happened. That’s when we saw the white slimmy mess on the little table, my purse, and carpet. I still couldn’t figure out what it was, and that’s when JT announced he Painted Mommy’s Purse. We had to get up real close to the table to see the wrapper smashed under 3 layers of butter to figure out what he had done. He was so proud!!!
Do you know what it’s like to get good ol’ fashioned greasy butter out of hair, carpets, off of wood and keys? Just ask Joel, but my trusty old trusty dark green GAP courderoy purse, rinsed right off, got thrown in the washing machine, and looks like nothing ever happened to it.
So how was your morning?
Here’s a picture:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    August 4, 2005 7:29 pm

    How cute!!
    -Shel

  2. August 5, 2005 3:36 pm

    Oh my gosh…what a horrible mess to clean up!! But having the cute picture to scrap with almost makes the mess worth it, doesn’t it? LOL

  3. August 6, 2005 10:33 pm

    Ahhh, be afraid when little ones are quiet you never know what they have found to do………..lol, sorry about your mess but what a versatile purse!!

Leave a Reply

