Skip to content

Steampunk Festivals

July 25, 2010

So I had heard the word Steampunk a couple times last year, and I honestly didn’t get it, until I went to a local Steampunk Festival, the Great Handcar Regatta, here in town. Joel and I had an absolute blast, it was the hottest day of the year and we had the kids and my Mom along, and none of them were as interested in the festivities as Joel and I. It was dusty, and sunny, and there were bearded ladies and tattooed men walking all over. The costumes were my favorite part. Joel loved the handcar races, and the neat contraptions built from old turn of the century materials. Joel and I plan on going again this year, just the two of us. I can hardly wait! Here’s a couple photos Joel took of the race participants last year. Carnival Frame strips and Vintage Frames from Kitschy Digitals/Danielle Thompson.

I heard that a nearby town, Petaluma, was starting it’s own festival, the Rivertown Revival. It was fun, there weren’t as many steampunk contraptions around to gawk at, but there was a Bearded lady, great music, and lots of great artists and crafters.

photo of steampunk clothes and accessories

steampunk accessories

steampunk typewriter and other accessories

vintage toys rivertown revival

I found a great local crafter, Rock and Roll Crafts, she had some really cute stuff, like paper and fabric crowns, upcycled vintage posters made into mouse pads, and kitschy accessories, plus some adorable dioramas (which are in her Etsy shop!), I should have taken more photos and closeups, I thought Joel was taking photos but he obviously didn’t take many. It’s hard to get him to let go of the camera at these things. Here’s two shots of her booth he did get.

rock and roll crafts rivertown revivial

rock and roll crafts, rivertown revival 2

Their boat races weren’t nearly as fun as the handcar races though, but maybe they’ll be better next year. We did take the kids and the highlight for Lulu was the kite making booth.

kite flying rivertown revival

JT’s kite didn’t fly well and he was bummed, but he really enjoyed the boats. Here he is in front of the giant floating Wine and Cheese basket. The wine was flowing freely, of course, we’re in Sonoma County!

Here’s Joel enjoying one of our favorite beers, Lagunitas, who were the exclusive beer vendor. They are always supportive of the arts community in Sonoma County, which makes them even better in my mind.

That mustache Joel is sporting is to that he’ll look more authentic in his costume when we go to the Handcar Regatta in September (that and he knows that it drives me crazy!). September is coming fast, I need to get our costumes! Maybe I’ll come back with a post after I do some costume shopping.

Here’s a couple more shots, the music was great (not exactly sure what band was playing but they were fun!)

(PS, Joel took most of the photos, except the beer, band and barn photos, they were all edited by me using the Bitty Baby actions by Gina Miller and other tips and tricks I’ve picked up along the way)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2010 3:47 pm

    These look like so much fun! I wonder if there’s anything like that around here. I’ll have to check!

  2. July 26, 2010 10:05 am

    Some fill-in info on what’s-what:

    HANDCAR REGATTA PHOTOS

    Burlesque clowns are the dance-performance-buffoonery troupe Fou Fou Ha!, San Francisco

    Many of the contraptions by Krank-Boom-Clank< Santa Rosa

    Many photos by Sassy Monkey Media

    RIVERTOWN REVIVAL PHOTO

    Band onstage are Baby Seal Club, Sebastopol/Santa Rosa

    • jtlulumom permalink*
      July 26, 2010 10:54 am

      Thank you for the info! We look forward to the next Regatta. I do assure any readers that the photos are indeed taken by my husband, Joel Shaw.

  3. Jill permalink
    July 27, 2010 2:11 pm

    You are wearing costumes this year?!? So fun! I can’t wait to see what you come up with. Judging by the terrible summer we are having it won’t be a million degrees so we should be able to stick around this time. Love the pictures you (and Joel) took. And Lulu is so stinking cute with her pigtails!!

  4. Elaine permalink
    September 27, 2010 7:25 pm

    Hiiii,
    I don’t know how it took me so long to see this post! But thank you, thank you! I remember you stopping by…maybe we’ll run into eachother again!

    Take care and happy crafting!

    elaine

  5. Joel Shaw permalink
    September 3, 2010 8:35 am

    Correction NO photos by Sassy Monkey Media. All photos by Joel Shaw, editing by Tania Shaw. If you think they are that good, we are available to photograph events and significantly less expensive (unless Sassy Monkey Media works for free).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

